

# **MINUTES**

# **Special Council**

Date: Monday, 15 July 2019

**Venue:** Town Hall, St Annes.

Members Present: Mayor (Councillor Angela Jacques)

Deputy Mayor (Councillor Richard Redcliffe)

Councillors Ben Aitken, Frank Andrews, Peter Anthony, Tim Armit, Mark Bamforth (via remote access), Brenda Blackshaw, Paula Brearley, Julie Brickles, Karen Buckley, Alan Clayton, Delma Collins, Peter Collins, Chris Dixon, Sue Fazackerley MBE, Ellie Gaunt, Brian Gill, Shirley Green, Noreen Griffiths, Will Harris, Gavin Harrison, Paul Hayhurst, Karen Henshaw JP, Paul Hodgson, John Kirkham, Matthew Lee, Cheryl Little, Roger Lloyd, Michelle Morris, Kiran Mulholland, Ed Nash, Sally Nash, Jayne Nixon, Linda Nulty, Liz Oades, David O'Rourke, Bobby Rigby, Michael Sayward, Vince Settle, Elaine Silverwood, John Singleton JP, Roger Small, Heather Speak, Ray Thomas, Tommy Threlfall, Stan Trudgill, Viv Willder, Michael Withers.

Officers Present:

Allan Oldfield, Tracy Manning, Ian Curtis, Tara Walsh, Sharon Wadsworth,
Katharine McDonnell, Alastair Woodhouse, Kassie Navarasi, Colin Dockery

Other Attendees: Six members of the public

## **Prayers**

Prayers were offered by Reverend Christopher Scargill.

### 1. Declarations of Interest

Members were reminded that any disclosable pecuniary interests should be declared as required by the Localism Act 2011 and any personal or prejudicial interests should be declared as required by the Council's Code of Conduct for Members. There were no declarations on this occasion.

#### **Decision Items**

## 2. Honorary Aldermen

Councillor Sue Fazackerley, Leader of the Council, introduced the item stating that it gave her great pleasure to propose that the Council bestow the status of Honorary Alderman to former councillors Tim Ashton, Maxine Chew and Louis Rigby who had served the borough for 16 years or more. Additionally it is proposed that for their years of faithful service that the Council place on record their thanks to the late Christine Akeroyd and Keith Beckett. Their families would be presented with an illuminated record in honour of their years of service.

Councillor Roger Small seconded the proposal.

## It was unanimously RESOLVED

1. That Tim Ashton, Maxine Chew and Louis Rigby having in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent service to Fylde Borough Council as a past Member of that Council, the Council confers on them the title of Honorary Alderman; and

2. That for the years of service and dedication to the borough, a vote of special thanks be recorded and place on record in honour of Christine Akeroyd and Keith Beckett for their years of dedicated service to Fylde Borough Council.

(Councillor Bamforth, accessing the meeting via remote means, did not participate in the vote, pursuant to Schedule 12, Part VI 39(1) of the Local Government Act 1972)

-----

# Fylde Borough Council copyright [2019]

You may re-use this document/publication (not including logos) free of charge in any format or medium. You must re-use it accurately and not in a misleading context.

The material must be acknowledged as Fylde Borough Council copyright and you must give the title of the source document/publication.

Where we have identified any third party copyright material you will need to obtain permission from the copyright holders concerned.

This document/publication was also available on our website at <a href="www.fylde.gov.uk">www.fylde.gov.uk</a>
Any enquiries regarding this document/publication should be sent to the Town Hall, St Annes Road West, St Annes FY8 1LW, or to <a href="listening@fylde.gov.uk">listening@fylde.gov.uk</a>.