## **APPENDIX 4**

## Governance information in relation to Heritage Trust for the North West

List of Trustees (including County Councillors)

Mr M J R Bannister,

Mr M F W Blundell,

Mr G A Burras,

Mr L G Coop,

Cty Cllr C Henig,

Cty Cllr M R B Johnstone,

Mr J F D Pierce,

(Chairman) Mr L E Stanworth,

Mr J Turner,

The Trustees historically have met a minimum of 3 times a year. For various reasons, the Trustees have recently met less frequently but have met the terms of the Constitution which stipulate one meeting per year. There is also an Executive which meets when required to take urgent decisions, and appraises finance matters. The County Councillors are appointed annually. The other Trustees serve for a period of 3 years (on a rotation basis and are eligible for re-election). In recent years a number of Trustees have resigned due to ill health or in two cases relocating to other parts of the Country. Trustees come from across the North West and represent the Trust's work across Cumbria, Lancashire, Greater Manchester and Merseyside.

HTNW is going through a period of transition, and a Trustees Sub-Committee is currently reviewing the Constitution and other Governance matters such as a skills audit and will shortly be advertising for new Trustees to join the Board. A new handbook is being prepared.

Succession planning is constantly being considered. Currently the Trustees are involved in setting up separate independent charities for specific projects to reduce the amount of work within Heritage Trust for the North West and bring on new Trustees, spread the load and widen the representation. Two new Boards are in place and these bodies have been meeting 4 times a year, reducing the need for HTNW meetings in the short term.