

Agenda Special Council

Date:	Monday, 17 July 2023 at 7:00 pm
Venue:	Town Hall, St Annes, FY8 1LW
	Mayor : Councillor Cheryl Little Deputy Mayor : Councillor Peter Anthony
Leader : Councillor Karen Buckley Deputy Leader : Councillor Richard Redcliffe	
	Councillors Frank Andrews, Tim Armit, Mark Bamforth, Liz Bickerstaffe, Julie Brickles, Damian Buckley, Edward Collins, Peter Collins, Chris Dixon, Martin Evans, Kelly Farrington, Susan Fazackerley MBE, Joanne Gardner, Ellie Gaunt, Gail Goodman JP, Noreen Griffiths, Gavin Harrison, Paul Hayhurst, Karen Henshaw JP, Paul Hodgson, John Kirkham, Jordan Ledger, Matthew Lee, Michelle Morris, Ed Nash, Jayne Nixon, Sandra Pitman, Andrew Redfearn, Vince Settle, William Taylor, Tommy Threlfall, Viv Willder, Michael Withers.

	PROCEDURAL ITEMS:	PAGE
1	Declarations of Interest: Declarations of interest, and the responsibility for declaring the same, are matters for elected members. Members are able to obtain advice, in writing, in advance of meetings. This should only be sought via the Council's Monitoring Officer. However, it should be noted that no advice on interests sought less than one working day prior to any meeting will be provided.	1
2	Honorary Aldermen	3 - 4

Contact: Democracy - Telephone: (01253) 658504 - Email: democracy@fylde.gov.uk

The code of conduct for members can be found in the council's constitution at

http://fylde.cmis.uk.com/fylde/DocumentsandInformation/PublicDocumentsandInformation.aspx

© Fylde Borough Council copyright 2023

You may re-use this document/publication (not including logos) free of charge in any format or medium. You must re-use it accurately and not in a misleading context. The material must be acknowledged as Fylde Borough Council copyright and you must give the title of the source document/publication. Where we have identified any third party copyright material you will need to obtain permission from the copyright holders concerned. This document/publication is also available on our website at <u>www.fylde.gov.uk</u> Any enquiries regarding this document/publication should be sent to us at the Town Hall, St Annes Road West, St Annes FY8 1LW, or to listening@fylde.gov.uk.



DECISION ITEM

REPORT OF	MEETING	DATE	ITEM NO	
DEPUTY CHIEF EXECUTIVE	SPECIAL COUNCIL	17 JULY 2023	2	
HONORARY ALDERMEN				

PUBLIC ITEM

This item is for consideration in the public part of the meeting.

SUMMARY

It has been the Council's previous practice to give the status of Honorary Alderman to past councillors who have served the Borough for 16 years or more. Following the recent Borough Council elections there would be ten such individuals eligible for this status.

Eligibility is for those individuals who are no longer serving councillors but who, in the opinion of the council, have rendered valuable services to Fylde Borough Council as Members in the past.

RECOMMENDATIONS

1. That Ben Aitken, Kevin Eastham, Trevor Fiddler, Peter Hardy, Angela Jacques, Linda Nulty, Liz Oades, Elaine Silverwood, John Singleton, Roger Small and Heather Speak having, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent service to Fylde Borough Council as past Members of that Council, the Council confers on them the title of Honorary Alderman.

SUMMARY OF PREVIOUS DECISIONS

Finance and Democracy Committee, 30 November 2015 - it was resolved that the additional criteria for conferment of Honorary Alderman be amended from 20 years aggregate service to 16 years aggregate service.

Operational Management Committee, 12 September 2017 – it was agreed to the provision of an Alderman's car parking pass for use on all Fylde Borough owned and operated car parks without any time restrictions.

CORPORATE PRIORITIES	
Economy – To create a vibrant and healthy economy	V
Environment – To deliver services customers expect	
Efficiency – By spending money in the most efficient way	
Tourism – To create a great place to live and visit v	

REPORT

 Ben Aitken (16 years service), Kevin Eastham (16 years service), Trevor Fiddler (40 years service), Peter Hardy (24 years service), Angela Jacques (16 years service), Linda Nulty (24 years service), Liz Oades (32 years service), Elaine Silverwood (16 years service), John Singleton (16 years service), Roger Small (22 years service) and Heather Speak (24 years service) as past Members of the Borough Council are eligible, based on past custom and practice, to have the conferment of the title of Honorary Alderman.

- 2. The council can confer this title, by resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting thereon at the meeting of the council specially convened for the purpose.
- 3. An honorary alderman may attend and take part in such civic ceremonies as the council may from time to time decide but, as such, has no additional right:
 - To attend meetings of the council or committee other than as a member of the public, or
 - To receive any of the allowances or other payments to which councillors are entitled
- 4. If members are minded to agree to these conferment's the Council is able to expend a sum of money to produce an address to the person upon whom it has conferred the title. This address would be presented to those named individuals at a special celebration event to be arranged for the autumn.

IMPLICATIONS		
Finance	Each address to be produced for the conferment of the title of Honorary Alderman will cost approximately £100 to produce. Honorary Alderman are also offered a free Residents Parking Permit at the cost of £25 per annum. These costs would be met from within existing budget provision.	
Legal	The transaction of special business, such as honorary alderman, can only be undertaken at a meeting specially convened for the purpose in hand. However this meeting can precede or follow an ordinary meeting of the council.	
Community Safety	None	
Human Rights and Equalities	None	
Sustainability and Environmental Impact	None	
Health & Safety and Risk Management	None	

LEAD AUTHOR	CONTACT DETAILS	DATE
Tracy Manning	Tracy.manning@fylde.gov.uk	May 2023

BACKGROUND PAPERS			
Name of document	Date	Where available for inspection	
Finance & Democracy Minutes	30/11/2015	F&D Minutes	
Operational Management Minutes	12/09/2017	OM Minutes	