Special Council Meeting



Date 28 July 2008

Venue Lowther Pavilion, Lytham

Members Mayor (Councillor Susan Fazackerley)

Deputy Mayor (Councillor Janine Owen)

Brenda Ackers, Ben Aitken, Christine Akeroyd, Keith Beckett, John Bennett, Karen Buckley, David Chedd, Maxine Chew, Elizabeth Clarkson, Peter Collins, John Coombes, Michael Cornah, Fabian Craig-Wilson, John Davies, Barbara Douglas, Kevin Eastham, David Eaves, Trevor Fiddler, Patricia Fieldhouse, Lyndsey Greening, Kathleen Harper, Paul Hayhurst, Ken Hopwood, Keith Hyde, Angela Jacques, Cheryl Little, Kiran Mulholland, Linda Nulty, Elizabeth Oades, Barbara Pagett, Albert Pounder, Dawn Prestwich, John Prestwich, Simon Renwick, Louis Rigby, Paul Rigby, Elaine Silverwood, Heather Speak, William Thompson, Thomas Threlfall.

Officers Phil Woodward, Dave Joy, Bernard Hayes, Ian Curtis, Allan

Oldfield, Allan Blundell, Andy Cain, Christopher Kitchin

82. Declarations of interest

Members were reminded that any personal/prejudicial interests should be declared as required by the Council's Code of Conduct adopted in accordance with the Local Government Act 2000.

Councillors Nulty, Hardy, Oades, Hayhurst, Bennett, Beckett, Silverwood and L Rigby declared an interest in item 2 Honorary Freedom of the Borough.

83. Honorary Freedom of the Borough

Councillor John Coombes (Leader of the Council) presented an item on the Freedom of the Borough. The Chief Executive had previously consulted with members on the prospect of granting Freedom of the Borough status to AFC Fylde (previously Kirkham and Wesham FC), winners of the 2008 FA Vase. Members have indicated their support for this. The report sought to confirm the conferment of this title.

RESOLVED - That in pursuance of section 249 of the Local Government Act 1992, members and representatives of Kirkham and Wesham FC who won the 2008 FA Vase be admitted as freemen of the Borough in recognition of their eminent achievement.

Special Council Meeting - 28 July 2008

That the common seal of the council be affixed to a certificate be presented to the Football Club conferring upon them this honour.

© Fylde Borough Council copyright [2008]

You may re-use this document/publication (not including logos) free of charge in any format or medium. You must re-use it accurately and not in a misleading context. The material must be acknowledged as Fylde Borough Council copyright and you must give the title of the source document/publication.

Where we have identified any third party copyright material you will need to obtain permission from the copyright holders concerned.

This document/publication is also available on our website at www.fylde.gov.uk

Any enquiries regarding this document/publication should be sent to us at the Town Hall, St Annes Road West, St Annes FY8 1LW, or to listening@fylde.gov.uk.