Council Meeting



Date	30 th January 2006	
Venue	Lowther Pavilion, Lytham	
Councillors	The Mayor (Councillor Ronald Wilson)	
	Deputy Mayor (Councillor Peter Hardy)	
	Tim Ashton, Eric Bamber, John Bennett, Harold Butler, George Caldwell, Stephen Carpenter, Maxine Chew, Deborah Clarke, Peter Collins, John Coombes, John Dolan, Kevin Eastham, Susan Fazackerley, Dr. Trevor Fiddler, Patricia Fieldhouse, Richard Fulford- Brown, Paul Hayhurst, Howard Henshaw, (A.D.K MALAYSIA) Karen Henshaw J.P, Keith Hyde, Alfred Jealous NP, Derek Lancaster, Stephen Mason, Kiran Mulholland, Ray Norsworthy, Linda Nulty, Elizabeth Oades, Barbara Pagett, Albert Pounder, Dawn Prestwich, John Prestwich, Louis Rigby, Paul Rigby, Roger Small, Martin Taylor, William Thompson, Thomas Threlfall, Stephen Wall, Colin Walton, Andrea Whittaker, Fabian Wilson, Hilda Wilson and Keith Wright.	
Officers	William Taylor, Phil Woodward, Dave Joy, Ian Curtis, Tracy Scholes, Brian White, Alan Blundell, Andrew Lee and Oliver Shimell.	
Others	Ron Matthews (South Ribble Borough Council).	

74. Declarations of interest

Members were reminded that any personal/prejudicial interests should be declared as required by the Council's Code of Conduct adopted in accordance with the Local Government Act 2000.

75. Confirmation of Minutes

RESOLVED: To confirm as a correct record for the signature of the mayor, the minutes of the Council meeting held on 5 December 2005 and the Special Council meeting held on 19 December 2005.

76. Mayors Announcements

 Elected Member development - The Mayor informed members that the Council was awarded charter status for elected member development. The Mayor Presented the Chairman of the steering group, Councillor Deborah Clarke along with Councillor Karen Henshaw and Councillor Fabian Wilson with flowers. 2. Thanksgiving Service - The Mayor thanked Councillors for attending Frank Hoyle's Thanksgiving service.

77. Interim Chief Executives Communications

The Interim Chief Executive informed members that no formal information regarding Local Government Review had been forthcoming, although Members would be informed of any future developments.

78. <u>Members Question</u> Nil	
79. <u>Members of the Public Question</u> Nil	
80. <u>Committee Minutes</u> RESOLVED: To receive the minutes of the following committee m	neetings:
Committee	Date
Scrutiny Management Board	29 th November 2005
Policy and Service Review CF	1 st December 2005
Community Outlook CF	12 th December 2005
Development Control	14 th December 2005
Special Executive Committee	14 th December 2005
Public Protection Committee	20 th December 2005
Performance Improvement CF	21 st December 2005
Development Control	4 th January 2006
Executive Committee	18 th January 2006
Policy & Service Review CF	19 th January 2006
Performance Improvement CF	26 th January 2006
91 Invitation to Assault Assault As Mayor 2000/07	

81. Invitation to Accept Appointment As Mayor 2006/07

It was moved by Councillor John Coombes and seconded by Councillor Rodger Small and:

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY: To invite Councillor Harold Butler to accept election by the Council at the 2006 Annual Meeting as Mayor of the Borough of Fylde for the ensuing municipal year.

82. Council Taxbase 2006/06

Brian White (Unit Business Manager - Finance) requested Members to consider the council's taxbase for 2006/07

Under the Local Government Finance Act 1992, the Council had to calculate its council taxbase for 2006/07, and notify it to the County Council and the County Police and Fire Authorities during the period 1st December to 31st January 2006.

A general debate took place and the Council RESOLVED:

- 1. Subject to it being lawful to do so, to discontinue the discount on second homes; otherwise to retain it at 10%
- 2. That pursuant to the Finance Business Unit Managers report and in accordance with the Local Authorities (Calculation of Council Taxbase) Regulations 1992 (as amended), the amount calculated by Fylde Borough Council as its council taxbase for the year 2006/2007 shall be 29,675.90 and that the amounts for each part of the area shall be as follows:

St Annes	10,490.33
Lytham	7,486.65
Bryning-with-Warton	1,276.80
Elswick	436.35
Freckleton	2,112.97
Greenhalgh-with-Thistleton	181.14
Little Eccleston-with-Larbreck	213.03
Medlar-with-Wesham	1,044.79
Newton-with Clifton	1,043.50
Ribby-with-Wrea	754.29
Singleton	427.35
Staining	865.20
Treales, Roseacre and Wharles	212.08
Weeton-with-Preese	278.18
Westby-with-Plumptons	547.60

Kirkham	2,305.64

83. The Council's Constitution

Members considered the recommendations of the Policy and Service Review Community Forum who had developed a constitution which reflects Councils decision to move to a leader and cabinet form of executive governance.

Full details of the key features of the new constitution, along with a draft copy were circulated with the Council Agenda.

After a lengthy and detailed debate, it was RESOLVED:

- 1. That Council adopts the new constitution (as detailed at appendix A of the report), as amended so that the cabinet consists of 8 members and a leader and that the adopted constitution to take effect from 13 February 2006.
- 2. That councillor Coombes be appointed as leader designate.
- 3. That the Legal and Democratic Services Unit Manager publishes the necessary public notice to satisfy the relevant provisions within the Local Government Act 2000.

Councillors Ronald Wilson, Liz Oades, Stephen Carpenter, Peter Hardy, Maxine Chew, Paul Hayhurst and Heather Speak requested that their votes be recorded as having voted against the motion.

84. Members Choice Debate

At the last meeting of the council, Councillor Keith Hyde had been selected to lead the members choice debate.

Councillor Hyde had invited, Ron Mathews (Area Committee Development Officer) from South Ribble Borough Council to make a presentation on the topic of Area Committees.

The presentation focused on the thinking behind and the main functions of Area Committees at South Ribble Borough Council; what decision making powers were devolved; the budget for the committees and the future of Area Committees at South Ribble.

At the conclusion of the presentation there was an opportunity for a question and answer session following which the Mayor thanked Mr Mathews for his presentation.

85. Members Choice Debate - Next meeting

The mayor made the draw to select the councillor to lead the members choice debate at the next council meeting. Councillor Karen Henshaw was selected.

© Fylde Borough Council copyright [2006]

You may re-use this document/publication (not including logos) free of charge in any format or medium. You must re-use it accurately and not in a misleading context. The material must be acknowledged as Fylde Borough Council copyright and you must give the title of the source document/publication.

Where we have identified any third party copyright material you will need to obtain permission from the copyright holders concerned.

This document/publication is also available on our website at www.fylde.gov.uk

Any enquiries regarding this document/publication should be sent to us at the Town Hall, St Annes Road West, St Annes FY8 1LW, or to listening@fylde.gov.uk.