

MINUTES

Special Council

Date: Monday, 17 July 2023

Venue: Town Hall, St Annes.

Committee Members Mayo

Present:

Mayor Councillor Cheryl Little

Deputy Mayor Councillor Peter Anthony

Councillors Frank Andrews, Liz Bickerstaffe, Julie Brickles, Damian Buckley, Karen Buckley, Edward Collins, Peter Collins, Chris Dixon, Martin Evans, Kelly Farrington, Sue Fazackerley MBE, Joanne Gardner, Ellie Gaunt, Gail Goodman JP, Noreen Griffiths, Gavin Harrison, Paul Hayhurst, Karen Henshaw JP, Paul Hodgson, John Kirkham, Jordan Ledger, Matthew Lee, Ed Nash, Jayne Nixon, Sandra Pitman, Richard Redcliffe, Andrew Redfearn, Vince Settle, Bill Taylor, Tommy Threlfall, Viv

Willder, Michael Withers.

Officers Present:

Allan Oldfield, Tracy Manning, Ian Curtis, Sharon Wadsworth, Katharine

McDonnell, Ross McKelvie and Colin Dockery.

Other Attendees: Councillor Mark Bamforth (via remote access)¹

1 Member of the public

Prayers

Prayers were offered by the Mayor's Chaplain, Rev Christopher Scargill. The Mayor offered her thanks to Reverend Scargill and wished him well in his retirement.

1. Declarations of Interest

Members were reminded that any disclosable pecuniary interests should be declared as required by the Localism Act 2011 and any personal or prejudicial interests should be declared as required by the Council's Code of Conduct for Members. There were none on this occasion.

2. Honorary Alderman

The Mayor, Councillor Cheryl Little, introduced the item stating that it gave her great pleasure to propose that the Council bestow the status of Honorary Alderman to former councillors Ben Aitken, Kevin Eastham, Trevor Fiddler, Peter Hardy, Angela Jacques, Linda Nulty, Liz Oades, Elaine Silverwood, John Singleton JP, Roger Small and Heather Speak who had served the borough for 16 years or more.

Councillor Peter Anthony seconded the proposal.

It was unanimously RESOLVED that Ben Aitken, Kevin Eastham, Trevor Fiddler, Peter Hardy, Angela Jacques, Linda Nulty, Liz Oades, Elaine Silverwood, John Singleton JP, Roger Small and Heather Speak having in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent service to Fylde Borough Council as a past Member of that Council, the Council confers on them the title of Honorary Alderman.

¹ Council procedure rule 2 allows a councillor to participate in a meeting remotely in certain circumstances. A remotely participating councillor is not deemed to be present at the meeting and may not move, second or vote on any matter.

Fylde Borough Council copyright [2023]

You may re-use this document/publication (not including logos) free of charge in any format or medium. You must re-use it accurately and not in a misleading context.

The material must be acknowledged as Fylde Borough Council copyright and you must give the title of the source document/publication.

Where we have identified any third party copyright material you will need to obtain permission from the copyright holders concerned.

This document/publication was also available on our website at www.fylde.gov.uk
Any enquiries regarding this document/publication should be sent to the Town Hall, St Annes Road West, St Annes FY8 1LW, or to listening@fylde.gov.uk.