

Council Meeting

13 February 2006 Date

Venue Lowther Pavilion, Lytham

Councillors Mayor (Councillor Ron Wilson)

Deputy Mayor (Councillor Peter Hardy)

Christine Akeroyd, Tim Ashton, Eric Bamber, John Bennett, Harold Butler, Stephen Carpenter, Maxine Chew, Elizabeth Clarke, Elizabeth Clarkson, Peter John Coombes, John Dolan.Kevin Eastham, Susan Fazackerley, Dr Trevor Fiddler, Patricia Fieldhouse, Richard Fulford- Brown, Paul Hayhurst, Howard Henshaw ADK (MALAYSIA), Karen Henshaw, Keith Hyde, Alfred Jealous NP, Derek Lancaster, Stephen Mason, Kiran Mulholland, Raymond Norsworthy, Elizabeth Oades, Janine Owen, Barbara Pagett, Albert Pounder, Dawn Prestwich, John Prestwich, Simon Renwick, Louis Rigby, Paul Rigby, Roger Small, Heather Speak, Martin Taylor, William Thompson, Thomas Threlfall, Stephen Wall, Colin Walton, Andrea Whittaker, Fabian Wilson, Hilda Wilson, Keith Wright

Officers Philip Woodward, Dave Joy, Ian Curtis, Paul

Walker, Alan Blundell, Lyndsey Lacey, Michael

Rogers

86. Declarations of interest

Members were reminded that any personal/prejudicial interests should be declared as required by the Council's Code of Conduct adopted in accordance with the Local Government Act 2000.

87. Mayor's announcements

- Interim Chief Executive The Mayor offered the interim Chief Executive's apologies. He indicated that Mr Taylor had a previously accepted meeting at West Lancashire.
- 2. Golden Wedding The Mayor thanked all those who had sent good wishes to him and his Mayoress in recognition of their Golden Wedding anniversary.

88. Deputy Chief Executive's communications

- Golden Wedding Mr Woodward on behalf of the Council passed on his congratulations to the Mayor and Mayoress for their Golden Wedding anniversary at the weekend.
- 2. Special meeting agenda Mr Woodward indicated that the agenda for the meeting had been tailored to reflect the special meeting agenda required by the adoption of the new constitution at the meeting on 30 January. In this respect, the agenda did not contain the usual items such as receipt of minutes, questions form members questions from the public, notices of motion and members choice debate.
- 3. Update from Council Meeting 30 January 2006 Mr Woodward made reference to a note circulated at the meeting. This updated members on two actions requested at the last council meeting. These included a change in wording to the call-in procedure and council tax discount information.
- 4. Local Government Review Mr Woodward indicated that he had received an email inviting leaders and chief executives to a meeting in Preston with the Local Government Minister, Mr Milliband to discuss local government review. He indicated that this would take place on 31 March and was further indication of the government's undeclared intention to make progress on this review.

89. Allocation of committee membership

lan Curtis (Legal and Democratic Services Business Manager) reported on the allocation of committee seats to each political group in accordance with the principles of political balance and the new leader and cabinet form of executive governance.

Following a detailed debate it was RESOLVED:

1. To allocate the committee seats to each political group as detailed below and in accordance with the principle of political balance.

Committee	Conservative	Independent	Ratepayers	Truly Independent	Liberal Democrat
Planning Policy Scrutiny	5	2	1	1	0
Community Outlook Scrutiny	5	2	2	0	0
Policy and Service Review Scrutiny	5	3	1	0	0
Performance Improvement Scrutiny	5	2	1	1	0
Development Control	9	3	2	1	1
Public Protection	6	2	2	0	1

- 2. To invite the remaining political groups to express (within the statutory period of three weeks) their wishes about who is to be appointed to the seats on each committee that are allocated to that group. These appointments being confirmed at the next ordinary meeting of the council.
- 3. To continue with the remaining committees as presently constituted in the meantime save that any member who is appointed to the cabinet and who presently serves on a scrutiny committee will cease to be a member of that scrutiny committee.

90. Implementation of cabinet governance

lan Curtis (Legal and Democratic Services Business Manager) reported that following the implementation of the constitution, the council would need to formally elect its executive leader and agree a schedule of meetings. A copy of the proposed schedule of meetings had previously been circulated to each member of the council.

Following consideration of this matter it was RESOLVED:

- 1. To appoint Councillor John Coombes as Leader to the Council
- 2. To note the following appointments to the cabinet made by the newly elected leader.

Councillors Tim Ashton, Susan Fazackerley, Patricia Fieldhouse, Albert Pounder, Simon Renwick, Roger Small, Paul Rigby

Council Meeting - 13 February 2006

3. To agree the programme of meetings for the cabinet and the various committees for the ensuing year as previously circulated save that all meetings timetabled for 6.00pm will instead start at 7.00pm
