

# Agenda Special Council

Date: Monday, 15 July 2019 at 7:00 pm

Venue: Town Hall, St Annes, FY8 1LW

Mayor : Councillor Angela Jacques

Deputy Mayor: Councillor Richard Redcliffe

Leader: Councillor Sue Fazackerley MBE Deputy Leader: Councillor Karen Buckley

Councillors Ben Aitken, Frank Andrews, Peter Anthony, Tim Armit, Mark Bamforth, Brenda Blackshaw, Paula Brearley, Julie Brickles, Alan Clayton, Delma Collins, Peter Collins, Chris Dixon, Trevor Fiddler, Ellie Gaunt, Brian Gill, Shirley Green, Noreen Griffiths, Peter Hardy, Will Harris, Gavin Harrison, Paul Hayhurst, Karen Henshaw JP, Paul Hodgson, John Kirkham, Matthew Lee, Cheryl Little, Roger Lloyd, Michelle Morris, Kiran Mulholland, Ed Nash, Sally Nash, Jayne Nixon, Linda Nulty, Liz Oades, David O'Rourke, Bobby Rigby, Michael Sayward, Vince Settle, Elaine Silverwood, John Singleton JP, Roger Small, Heather Speak, Ray Thomas, Tommy Threlfall, Stan Trudgill, Viv Willder, Michael Withers.

	PROCEDURAL ITEMS:	PAGE
1	Declarations of Interest:  Declarations of interest, and the responsibility for declaring the same, are matters for elected members. Members are able to obtain advice, in writing, in advance of meetings. This should only be sought via the Council's Monitoring Officer. However, it should be noted that no advice on interests sought less than one working day prior to any meeting will be provided.	1
2	Honorary Aldermen	3 - 4

Contact: Katharine McDonnell - Telephone: (01253) 658423 - Email: democracy@fylde.gov.uk

The code of conduct for members can be found in the council's constitution at

http://fylde.cmis.uk.com/fylde/DocumentsandInformation/PublicDocumentsandInformation.aspx

## © Fylde Borough Council copyright 2019

You may re-use this document/publication (not including logos) free of charge in any format or medium. You must re-use it accurately and not in a misleading context.

The material must be acknowledged as Fylde Borough Council copyright and you must give the title of the source document/publication.

Where we have identified any third party copyright material you will need to obtain permission from the copyright holders concerned.

This document/publication is also available on our website at <a href="www.fylde.gov.uk">www.fylde.gov.uk</a>
Any enquiries regarding this document/publication should be sent to us at the Town Hall, St Annes Road West, St Annes FY8 1LW, or to <a href="listening@fylde.gov.uk">listening@fylde.gov.uk</a>.



# **DECISION ITEM**

REPORT OF	MEETING	DATE	ITEM NO		
RESOURCES DIRECTORATE	SPECIAL COUNCIL	15 JULY 2019	2		
HONORARY ALDERMEN					

#### **PUBLIC ITEM**

This item is for consideration in the public part of the meeting.

#### **SUMMARY**

It has been the Council's previous practice to give the status of Honorary Alderman to past councillors who have served the Borough for 16 years or more. Following the recent Borough Council elections there would be three such individuals eligible for this status.

Eligibility is for those individuals who are no longer serving councillors but who, in the opinion of the council, have rendered valuable services to Fylde Borough Council as Members in the past.

## **RECOMMENDATIONS**

- 1. That Tim Ashton, Maxine Chew and Louis Rigby having, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent service to Fylde Borough Council as a past Member of that Council, the Council confers on them the title of Honorary Alderman; and
- 2. That for the years of service and dedication to the borough, a vote of special thanks be recorded and placed on record for Christine Akeroyd and Keith Beckett for them both having rendered eminent service to Fylde Borough Council.

#### **SUMMARY OF PREVIOUS DECISIONS**

Finance and Democracy Committee, 30 November 2015 - it was resolved that the additional criteria for conferment of Honorary Alderman be amended from 20 years aggregate service to 16 years aggregate service.

Operational Management Committee, 12 September 2017 – it was agreed to the provision of an Alderman's car parking pass for use on all Fylde Borough owned and operated car parks without any time restrictions.

CORPORATE PRIORITIES	
Spending your money in the most efficient way to achieve excellent services (Value for Money)	٧
Delivering the services that customers expect of an excellent council (Clean and Green)	٧
Working with all partners (Vibrant Economy)	
To make sure Fylde continues to be one of the most desirable places to live (A Great Place to Live)	٧
Promoting Fylde as a great destination to visit (A Great Place to Visit)	٧

#### **REPORT**

- 1. Tim Ashton (28 years service), Maxine Chew (16 years service) and Louis Rigby (43 years service) as past Members of the Borough Council are eligible, based on past custom and practice, to have the conferment of the title of Honorary Alderman.
- 2. The council can confer this title, by resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting thereon at the meeting of the council specially convened for the purpose.
- 3. An honorary alderman may attend and take part in such civic ceremonies as the council may from time to time decide but, as such, has no additional right:
  - To attend meetings of the council or committee other than as a member of the public, or
  - To receive any of the allowances or other payments to which councillors are entitled
- 4. If members are minded to agree to these conferments the Council is able to expend a sum of money to produce an address to the person upon whom it has conferred the title. This address would be presented to those named individuals at a special celebration event to be arranged for September.
- 5. Special mention should be made in regards to Keith Beckett (16 years service) and Christine Akeroyd (17 years service), who would have been eligible for the conferment of title of Honorary Alderman, but sadly the title of Honorary Alderman cannot be awarded posthumously.
- 6. However it is suggested that for the years of service and dedication to the borough, a vote of special thanks be recorded and placed on record for Christine Akeroyd and Keith Beckett for them both having rendered eminent service to Fylde Borough Council. In addition, it is intended that an address recording this thanks be presented to the families of both Christine Akeroyd and Keith Beckett reflecting these special thanks.

IMPLICATIONS			
Finance	Each address to be produced for the conferment of the title of Honorary Alderman will cost approximately £100 to produce. Honorary Alderman are also offered a free Residents Parking Permit at the cost of £25 per annum. These costs would be met from within existing budget provision.		
Legal	The transaction of special business, such as honorary alderman, can only be undertaken at a meeting specially convened for the purpose in hand. However this meeting can precede or follow an ordinary meeting of the council.		
Community Safety	None		
Human Rights and Equalities	None		
Sustainability and Environmental Impact	None		
Health & Safety and Risk Management	None		

LEAD AUTHOR	CONTACT DETAILS	DATE	
Tracy Manning	Tracy.manning@fylde.gov.uk	May 2019	

BACKGROUND PAPERS				
Name of document	Date	Where available for inspection		
Minutes	30/11/2015	F&D Minutes		
Minutes	12/09/2017	OM Minutes		